Katsina to borrow N48 billion for 2023 budget funding

Katsina State Government will source more than N48 billion foreign and domestic loans to fund its 2023 budget. Permanent Secretary in the state’s Ministry of Budget and Economic Planning, Abdullahi Abubakar, …

Popular Jos motor park gutted by fire

The NTA Park, a popular motor park in Jos, has been gutted by fire. Mr Matthew Edogbonya, the Public Relations Officer (PRO) of the Federal Fire Service in Plateau, was unavailable …

2023: ‘Peter Obi not worth 10 kobo’ – Governor Sule

Governor Abdullahi Sule of Nasarawa State has dismissed online ratings that put Peter Obi, the presidential candidate of the Labour Party ahead of Bola Ahmed Tinubu of the All Progressives Congress …

The National Leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC) Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu has clinched the presidential ticket of the ruling party for the 2023 general elections.

He defeated 13 other aspirants with 1,271 votes as against his closest rival, former Minister of Transportation Rotimi Amaechi who had 316 votes.
Tinubu also defeated Vice President Yemi Osinbajo who polled 235 votes; Senate President Ahmed Lawan with 152 votes; Kogi Governor Yahaya Bello recorded 47 votes while his Ebonyi counterpart, Dave Umahi had 38 votes with Cross River Governor scoring Ben Ayade 37 votes
Senator Ahmed Sani Rufai polled four (4) votes while former Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation, Ogbonnaya Onu and Minister of State, Education, Chukwuemeja Nwaujiba got one vote each. Former Imo Governor Senator Rochas Okorocha, Pastor Tunde Bakare, Tein Jack-Rich and Chief Ikeobasi Mokelu had no vote. Indications of his victory emerged
before commencement of the primary when seven of the aspirants stepped down for former the Lagos Governor during their addresses to delegates.

Former Minister of Niger Delta Development, Senator Godswill Akpabio led the pack of the seven aspirants that stepped down for Asiwaju.

Others were Ekiti Governor Kayode Fayemi; Jigawa Governor Abubakar Badaru; former Imo Governor Senator Ibikunle Amosun, former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Dimeji Bankole and Senator Ajayi Boroffice.

Former Senate President, Senator Ken Nnamani had withdrawn from the race before the convention.

The Eagle Square went into frenzy when the Election Management Committee of the APC announced Tinubu as winner of the keenly contested primary.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *