The candidate of the All Progressive Congress, Umar Mohammed Bago, has won the governorship election in Niger State.

Announcing the result in Minna on Monday, the state collation officer, Professor Clement Allawa, said Bago won in 20 of the 25 Local Government Areas and polled a total of 469,896.

“I, Professor Clement Allawa, hereby certify that I am the Returning Officer for the 2023 governorship election that was contested on March 18, 2023.”

“I declare that Umar Mohammed Bago of the APC having satisfied the requirements of the law is hereby declared the winner of the 2023 governorship election in Niger State.”

He stated that the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party who was the closest rival of the APC candidate, Isah Liman Kantigi, won in 5 local government areas with 387,476 votes.

He also announced that the candidate of the New Nigeria People’s Party, Yahaya Mohammed came third with a total of 3,378 votes while the only female candidate in the election Khadijat Abdulahi who contested under the platform of the All Progressive Grand Alliance polled 1,746 votes.

He added that the total number of accredited voters was 899, 488 while he gave the number of votes cast as 889,956.

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: