Former Akwa Ibom State governor Godswill Akpabio of the All Progressive Congress (APC) has emerged as the Senate President of the 10th Assembly.

Jibrin Barau, senator representing Kano South, emerged as the Deputy Senate President.

Akpabio, who is the preferred candidate of the APC, defeated Senator Abdul’aziz Yari to emerge the new Senate President on Tuesday.

He was elected as President of the 10th Senate after scoring 63 votes defeating Yari who scored 46 votes.

The result was announced by the clerk of the National Assembly, Sani Tambuwal who disclosed that 107 senators voted.

Akpabio was nominated by Ali Ndume (Borno) and seconded by Adeola Olamilekan (Ogun).

Yari was nominated by Elisha Abbo (Adamawa) and seconded by Jimoh Ibrahim.

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: