November 26, 2022

The Adamawa State Government has imposed 24-hour curfew on troubled communities in two local government areas.

The communities are Lafiya, Boshikiri, Zakawan, Masermei, Dumna Zerbu, Dumna Burthi, Dumba Dutse, Duwu and Tsalbu in Lamurde and Guyuk local government areas.

A statement from the government Wednesday night, said the curfew followed renewed disturbances in the communities.

“The 24-hour curfew takes immediate effect until further notice,” said the statement, which was signed by Mr Humwashi Wonosikou, Press Secretary to Governor Ahmadu Fintiri.

A communal clash had rocked at least five communities in Lamurde local government area over last night, prompting a visit to the place Wednesday morning by Deputy Governor Crowther Seth and some security chiefs.

Expressing the regret that the fresh violence has come just weeks after the Tigno crisis in the same Lamurde LGA, the statement said, “Government expects that communities that have been living peacefully for decades should share so much in common to be able to give peace a chance.

“While guaranteeing the safety of the people of the state, Government advises Citizens to exercise restraint and refrain from taking the Law into their hands.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *