Honourable Tajudeen Abbas, has emerged as the Speaker of the 10th House of Representatives.

The lawmaker representing Zaria Federal Constituency, scored 353 votes out of 359 to defeat fellow contenders, Ahmed Wase and Sani Jaji, who polled three votes each.

The APC had chosen Abbas and Hon Benjamin Kalu as Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the 10th House respectively.

But this did not go down with other contenders called the G-7 who vowed to continue in the contest.

Members of the G-7 had one after the other dropped their aspiration as Speaker of the 10th Assembly, due to pressure, counsel or personal conviction.

On Sunday, Betara and Gagdi dropped their ambition after meeting with President Bola Tinubu and Vice-President, Kashim Shettima.

Wase and Jaji continued in the race for speakership, making the total number of nominees 3.

The process commenced before 10 am as the Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly, Kamoru Ogunlami joined by the Clerk of the House presided over the session.

Ogunlami took the roll call for all 359 Members-elect after which he called for the nomination of candidates for the position of Speaker of the 10th House.

The House adopted the open ballot method as enshrined in its amended House rule that states that when there are more than two nominations each member-elect shall openly declare his/her candidates of choice for the position of Speaker.

While Abbas was nominated by former Majority Leader of the House, Alhassan Ado-Doguwa, a Lawmaker from Kwara State, Tijjani Kayode Ismail, nominated the immediate past Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives, Ahmed Wase.

Abbas’s nomination was seconded by Nnolim Nnaji.

Doguwa explained that Abbas has Parliamentary experience, competent and has the capacity to relate with other arms of government, to preside over the 10th Assembly.

Ahmed Yusuf Ibrahim from Katsina State nominated Jaji from Zamfara State.

Jaji accepted the nomination, saying he was out to defend democracy.

During the voting, members-elect cheered a former aspirant for Speaker, Aliyu Betara, when he voted for Abbas.

As Betara was called to declare his choice among the three contenders for the position, many lawmakers cheered and clapped for him.

The lawmaker declared his vote for Abbas.

The outgone speaker, Femi Gbajabiamila was also cheered after opening declaring for Abbas.

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: